Faculty working with humans, mice and rats

  • Caroline Alexander

    Alexander, Caroline

    alexander@oncology.wisc.edu
    608-265-5182
    819a McArdle Lab

    Oncology

    Analysis of breast development, signaling and disease

  • Alan Attie

    Attie, Alan

    attie@biochem.wisc.edu
    608-262-1372
    534A Biochemistry Addn

    Biochemistry

    Genetics of type 2 diabetes and related metabolic diseases.

  • Anjon Audhya

    Audhya, Anjon

    audhya@wisc.edu
    608-262-3761
    5214A Biochemical Sciences Bldg

    Biomolecular Chemistry

    Regulation of vesicle biogenesis and membrane transport during development

  • Barak BLum

    Blum, Barak

    bblum4@wisc.edu
    (608) 265-5211
    1111 Highland Ave (WIMR II), Room 4551

    Cell and Regenerative Biology (CRB)

    Regulation of terminal differentiation and functional maturation of stem and progenitor cells, regenerative biology of the endocrine pancreas, genetics of type-1 and type-2 diabetes

  • Karl Broman

    Broman, Karl

    kbroman@biostat.wisc.edu
    608-262-4633
    2126 Genetics-Biotechnology

    Biostatistics and Medical Informatics

    I work on statistical problems in genetics, genomics, and molecular biology, focusing particularly on characterizing of meiotic recombination and developing improved methods for detecting and identifying genes contributing to variation in complex traits in experimental organisms.

  • Chang Hao

    Chang, Hao

    hchang@dermatology.wisc.edu
    MSC, Room 417

    Planar cell polarity in mammalian skin development and cancer

  • Qiang Chang

    Chang, Qiang

    qchang@waisman.wisc.edu
    608-262-9416
    657 Waisman Center

    Medical Genetics and Neurology

    DNA methylation-dependent epigenetic regulation of brain functions

  • Lara Collier

    Collier, Lara

    lcollier@wisc.edu
    608-890-2149
    4117 Rennebohm Hall

    Pharmacy

    We use genetic and pharmacological approaches in mouse models to study disease etiology and treatment.

  • David Eide

    Eide, David

    eide@nutrisci.wisc.edu
    608-263-1613
    340B Nutritional Sciences

    Nutritional Science

    We study mechanisms cells and organisms use to survive and thrive under nutrient-deficient conditions

  • Feyza Engin

    Engin, Feyza

    fengin@wisc.edu
    (608) 262-8667
    6260B Biochemical Sciences Building

    Biomolecular Chemistry

    Diabetes and metabolic disorders, organelle dysfunction, stress responses, beta cell biology.

  • Michael Gould

    Gould, Michael

    gould@oncology.wisc.edu
    608-263-6615
    506c McArdle

    Oncology

    Oncogenes and suppressor genes in mammary carcinogenesis

  • Daniel Greenspan

    Greenspan, Daniel S.

    dsgreens@wisc.edu
    608-262-4676
    Room 4503 WIMRII, 1111 Highland Ave.

    Cell and Regenerative Biology

     Genes important to vertebrate development and human disease

  • Anne Griep

    Griep, Anne

    aegriep@wisc.edu
    608-262-8988
    353 Bardeen Labs

    Anatomy

    My laboratory's focus is development and disorders of the visual system using the mouse as the model system.

  • Colleen Hayes

    Hayes, Colleen

    hayes@biochem.wisc.edu
    608-263-6387
    5507 Biochemistry

    Biochemistry and Medical Microbiology

    Genetic and biochemical studies of peripheral B lymphocyte development 

  • Aaron Hoskins

    Hoskins, Aaron

    ahoskins@wisc.edu
    (608) 890-3101
    2214 Biochemical Sciences Building

    Biochemistry

    RNA splicing, gene expression, fluorescence microscopy, RNA/protein complexes, molecular mechanism, gene regulation, yeast genetics and biology

  • Zhen Huang

    Huang, Zhen

    z.huang@neurology.wisc.edu
    608-263-2469
    1111 Highland Avenue, 5453 WIMR II

    Neurology and Nueroscienc

    Neural stem cell regulation of brain vessel development
    Neuron and glial cell fate specification
    Cortical neuron migration, layer formation, and neuronal differentiation
    Heterotrimeric G protein signaling
    Germinal matrix hemorrhage
    Neuronal migration disorders 

  • Akihiro Ikeda

    Ikeda, Akihiro

    aikeda@wisc.edu
    608-262-5477
    5322 Genetics/Biotech

    Medical Genetics

    Our laboratory aims to identify genes involved in aging, cell proliferation and neovascularization using mouse genetics as a tool.

  • Dudley Lamming

    Lamming, Dudley

    dlamming@medicine.wisc.edu
    608-256-1901 x 12861
    WSM VA Hospital

    Medicine

    Biology of aging and age-related diseases, diabetes, cancer, Alzheimer’s disease

  • Peter Lewis Photo

    Lewis, Peter

    plewis@discovery.wisc.edu
    608- 316-4388
    2174 Wisconsin Institute for Discovery

    Biomolecular Chemistry

    Epigenetic Mechanisms in Development and Cancer

  • Paul Marker

    Marker, Paul

    marker@wisc.edu
    608-890-2150
    4111 Rennebohm Hall

    Pharmacy

    My laboratory investigates prostate cancer, benign prostatic hyperplasia, and normal prostate biology using mouse genetics and human patient samples.

  • Amy Moser

    Moser, Amy

    armoser@wisc.edu
    608-265-6520
    K4 Bx5666 Clinical Sciences

    Human Oncology

    The role of modifier genes in mammary and colon cancer development

  • Bret Payseur

    Payseur, Bret

    payseur@wisc.edu
    608-890-0867
    2428 Genetics/Biotech

    Medical Genetics

    Genetics of speciation, genetics of adaptive evolution, recombination

  • Caitlin Pepperell

    Pepperell, Caitlin

    cspepper@medicine.wisc.edu
    608-262-6167
    5301 Microbial Sciences Building

    Medicine

    Ecological and evolutionary interactions between humans and human pathogens.

  • Tomas Prolla

    Prolla, Tomas

    taprolla@wisc.edu
    608-265-5204
    3430 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Medical Genetics

    DNA repair, cancer and the aging process 

  • Sushmita Roy

    Roy, Sushmita

    sroy@biostat.wisc.edu
    608-316-4453
    3168 Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery

    Biostatistics and Medical Informatics

    Machine learning methods to study the structure, function and evolution of regulatory networks and build predictive models.

  • David Schwartz

    Schwartz, David

    dcschwartz@wisc.edu
    608-265-0546
    5434 Genetics/Biotech

    Chemistry and Genetics

    Scalable discovery of human and cancer structural variation through invention and applications of single molecule systems.

  • Ahna Skop

    Skop, Ahna

    skop@wisc.edu
    608-262-1593
    2426 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Life Science Communications

    asymmetric cell division, cytokinesis, cell polarity & cell cycle genomics and proteomics

  • Paul Sondel

    Sondel, Paul

    pmsondel@humonc.wisc.edu
    608-263-9069
    K4/446 Clinical Science Center

    Pediatrics, Human Oncology and Medical Genetics

    We are investigating ways that antibody recognition of cancer cells can be utilized therapeutically as a means to facilitate cancer destruction in mice and in patients by cells of the immune system.

  • Rupa Sridharan

    Sridharan, Rupa

    rsridharan@discovery.wisc.edu
    608-316-4422
    2118 Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery

    Cell and Regenerative Biology

    Epigenetics
    Induced pluripotent stem cells

  • Xin Sun

    Sun, Xin

    xsun@wisc.edu
    608-265-5405
    5264 Genetics/Biotech

    Medical Genetics

    Genetics of Mammalian Development and Disease

  • Terri Young

    Young, Terri L.

    tyoung6@wisc.edu
    2828 Marshall Court, Suite 200, Madison WI 53705

    Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

    Ophthalmic genetics, refractive error genetics, and pediatric ophthalmology clinical studies

  • Jing Zhang

    Zhang, Jing

    Zhang@oncology.wisc.edu
    608-263-1147
    417A McArdle Laboratory

    Oncology

    We use genetically engineered mouse models to study normal and mutant hematopoietic stem cell functions.

  • Xinyu Zhao

    Zhao, Xinyu

    xzhao69@wisc.edu
    608-263-9906
    T513 Waisman Center

    Neuroscience

    Genetics and epigenetic regulation of neural stem cells and neuronal development