Faculty studying development

  • Caroline Alexander

    Alexander, Caroline

    alexander@oncology.wisc.edu
    608-265-5182
    819a McArdle Lab

    Oncology

    Analysis of breast development, signaling and disease

  • Reid Alisch

    Alisch, Reid

    alisch@wisc.edu
    (608) 262-8430
    6001 Research Park Blvd.

    Psychiatry

    The role of epigenetics in human health and disease processes, particularly in relation to the origins of mental illness.

  • Richard Amasino

    Amasino, Richard

    amasino@biochem.wisc.edu
    608-262-4704
    215B Biochemistry Addn

    Biochemistry

    We study how the environmental cues that result from seasonal change are perceived and then transduced into developmental changes such as the transition to flowering.

  • Jean-Michel Ane

    Ané, Jean-Michel

    jeanmichel.ane@wisc.edu
    608-262-6457
    348 Horticulture-Moore Hall-Plant Sciences

    Bacteriology/Agronomy

    Our lab studies symbiotic associations between plants and microbes (bacteria and fungi) using genetic, molecular, and biochemical approaches.

  • Anjon Audhya

    Audhya, Anjon

    audhya@wisc.edu
    608-262-3761
    5214A Biochemical Sciences Bldg

    Biomolecular Chemistry

    Regulation of vesicle biogenesis and membrane transport during development

  • Arash Bashirullah

    Bashirullah, Arash

    bashirullah@wisc.edu
    608-890-1851
    5123 Rennebohm Hall

    Pharmacy

    Regulation of tissue remodeling during post-embryonic development

  • Seth Blair

    Blair, Seth

    ssblair@wisc.edu
    608-262-1345
    315 Zoology Research

    Zoology

    Developmental genetics of patterning and cell signaling in Drosophila 

  • Barak BLum

    Blum, Barak

    bblum4@wisc.edu
    (608) 265-5211
    1111 Highland Ave (WIMR II), Room 4551

    Cell and Regenerative Biology (CRB)

    Regulation of terminal differentiation and functional maturation of stem and progenitor cells, regenerative biology of the endocrine pancreas, genetics of type-1 and type-2 diabetes

  • Grace Boekhoff-Falk

    Boekhoff-Falk, Grace

    boekhofffalk@wisc.edu
    608-262-1609
    264 Bardeen

    Anatomy

    Developmental Biology, Gene Expression, Hormones, Growth and Differentiation factors, and signal transduction

  • Sean Carroll

    Carroll, Sean

    sbcarrol@wisc.edu
    608-262-6191
    201A Bock Labs

    Molecular Biology, Genetics and Medical Genetics

    Genetic control of animal development and the evolution of morphological diversity.

  • Qiang Chang

    Chang, Qiang

    qchang@waisman.wisc.edu
    608-262-9416
    657 Waisman Center

    Medical Genetics and Neurology

    DNA methylation-dependent epigenetic regulation of brain functions

  • Chang Hao

    Chang, Hao

    hchang@dermatology.wisc.edu
    MSC, Room 417

    Planar cell polarity in mammalian skin development and cancer

  • Barry Ganetzky

    Ganetzky, Barry

    ganetzky@wisc.edu
    608-263-2404
    4120 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Medical Genetics

    Discovery and characterization of genetic and molecular mechanisms that underlie synaptic growth, maintenance, and repair.

  • Daniel Greenspan

    Greenspan, Daniel S.

    dsgreens@wisc.edu
    608-262-4676
    Room 4503 WIMRII, 1111 Highland Ave.

    Cell and Regenerative Biology

     Genes important to vertebrate development and human disease

  • Anne Griep

    Griep, Anne

    aegriep@wisc.edu
    608-262-8988
    353 Bardeen Labs

    Anatomy

    My laboratory's focus is development and disorders of the visual system using the mouse as the model system.

  • Yevgenya Grinblat

    Grinblat, Yevgenya

    ygrinblat@wisc.edu
    608-265-3219
    129 Zoology

    Zoology and Neuroscience

    Pattern formation, neural development, zebrafish developmental genetics 

  • Mary Halloran

    Halloran, Mary

    mchalloran@wisc.edu
    608-263-7875
    307 Zoology Research

    Zoology

    Our research is aimed at understanding mechanisms controlling development of the nervous system.

  • Jeff Hardin

    Hardin, Jeff

    jdhardin@wisc.edu
    608-262-9634
    327 Zoology Research

    Zoology

    We use the C. elegans embryo as a model for investigating cell movement and cell adhesion during embryonic development; understanding how cells move, and how they make and break adhesions has important implications for understanding birth defects during human development and for understanding cancer progression.

  • Melissa Harrison

    Harrison, Melissa

    mharrison3@wisc.edu
    608-262-2382
    6204B Biochemical Sciences Building

    Biomolecular Chemistry

    We are studying embryonic development to understand the transcriptional mechanisms required to establish a totipotent state.

  • Colleen Hayes

    Hayes, Colleen

    hayes@biochem.wisc.edu
    608-263-6387
    5507 Biochemistry

    Biochemistry and Medical Microbiology

    Genetic and biochemical studies of peripheral B lymphocyte development 

  • Zhen Huang

    Huang, Zhen

    z.huang@neurology.wisc.edu
    608-263-2469
    1111 Highland Avenue, 5453 WIMR II

    Neurology and Nueroscienc

    Neural stem cell regulation of brain vessel development
    Neuron and glial cell fate specification
    Cortical neuron migration, layer formation, and neuronal differentiation
    Heterotrimeric G protein signaling
    Germinal matrix hemorrhage
    Neuronal migration disorders 

  • Nancy Keller

    Keller, Nancy

    npkeller@wisc.edu
    608-262-9795
    3476 Microbial Sciences Building

    Bacteriology and Medical Microbiology and Immunology

    Keller lab explores genetic regulation of virulence and natural product synthesis by fungi.. 

  • Judith Kimble

    Kimble, Judith

    jekimble@wisc.edu
    608-262-6188
    341E Biochemistry Laboratories

    Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Medical Genetics

    Molecular regulation of germline self-renewal and differentiation in C. elegans

  • Allen Laughon

    Laughon, Allen

    alaughon@wisc.edu
    608-262-2456
    3432 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Medical Genetics

    We study mechanisms by which Smad transcription factors and associated cofactors regulate transcription in response to TGFβ signaling.

  • Peter Lewis Photo

    Lewis, Peter

    plewis@discovery.wisc.edu
    608- 316-4388
    2174 Wisconsin Institute for Discovery

    Biomolecular Chemistry

    Epigenetic Mechanisms in Development and Cancer

  • Paul Marker

    Marker, Paul

    marker@wisc.edu
    608-890-2150
    4111 Rennebohm Hall

    Pharmacy

    My laboratory investigates prostate cancer, benign prostatic hyperplasia, and normal prostate biology using mouse genetics and human patient samples.

  • Patrick Masson

    Masson, Patrick

    phmasson@wisc.edu
    608-265-2312
    3262 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics

    Genetics of Root Growth Behavior Using Arabidopsis thaliana as a Model System.

  • Phil Newmark

    Newmark, Phil

    pnewmark@morgridge.org
    (608) 316-4105
    Morgridge Institute for Research, 3266

    Zoology

    Germ cell development and regeneration in planarians; developmental biology of parasitic flatworms

  • Kate O'Connor-Giles

    O'Connor-Giles, Kate

    oconnorgiles@wisc.edu
    608-265-4813
    227D Bock Labs

    Genetics

    We are interested in understanding the genes and molecular mechanisms that regulate synapse formation and plasticity.

  • Marisa Otegui

    Otegui, Marisa

    otegui@wisc.edu
    608-265-5703
    B119 Birge Hall

    Botany and Genetics

    Cellular trafficking and signaling

  • Francisco Pelegri

    Pelegri, Francisco

    fjpelegri@wisc.edu
    608-265-9286
    2424 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Medical Genetics

    Analysis of cellular and developmental mechanisms involved in the vertebrate egg-to-embryo transition and early cell fate specification

  • Ahna Skop

    Skop, Ahna

    skop@wisc.edu
    608-262-1593
    2426 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics and Life Science Communications

    asymmetric cell division, cytokinesis, cell polarity & cell cycle genomics and proteomics

  • Rupa Sridharan

    Sridharan, Rupa

    rsridharan@discovery.wisc.edu
    608-316-4422
    2118 Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery

    Cell and Regenerative Biology

    Epigenetics
    Induced pluripotent stem cells

  • Xin Sun

    Sun, Xin

    xsun@wisc.edu
    608-265-5405
    5264 Genetics/Biotech

    Medical Genetics

    Genetics of Mammalian Development and Disease

  • Michael Taylor

    Taylor, Michael

    michael.taylor@wisc.edu
    777 Highland Ave.

    School of Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences Division

    Genetic dissection of blood-brain barrier development

  • Wassarman

    Wassarman, David

    dawassarman@wisc.edu
    608-262-6648
    4262 Genetics and Biotechnology Center

    Medical Genetics

    Mechanisms underlying neurodegeneration

  • Jill Wildonger

    Wildonger, Jill

    wildonger@wisc.edu
    608-890-4619
    2204 Biochemical Sciences Building

    Biochemistry

    How neuronal structure and function is shaped by the microtubule cytoskeleton and polarized transport

  • Jae-hyuk Yu

    Yu, Jae-hyuk

    jyu1@wisc.edu
    608-262-4696
    3155 Microbial Sciences Building

    Bacteriology and Genetics

    Molecular genetics and genomics of spore formation and mycotoxin biosynthesis in filamentous fungi

  • Jing Zhang

    Zhang, Jing

    Zhang@oncology.wisc.edu
    608-263-1147
    417A McArdle Laboratory

    Oncology

    We use genetically engineered mouse models to study normal and mutant hematopoietic stem cell functions.

  • Xinyu Zhao

    Zhao, Xinyu

    xzhao69@wisc.edu
    608-263-9906
    T513 Waisman Center

    Neuroscience

    Genetics and epigenetic regulation of neural stem cells and neuronal development

  • zhong

    Zhong, Xuehua

    xzhong28@wisc.edu
    608-316-4421
    Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery, room 2114

    Genetics

    We are interested in understanding the fundamental mechanisms and biological roles of epigenetic modifications of DNA and histones underpinning various biological processes.