Faculty working with bacteria

  • Jean-Michel Ane

    Ané, Jean-Michel

    jeanmichel.ane@wisc.edu
    608-262-6457
    348 Horticulture-Moore Hall-Plant Sciences

    Bacteriology/Agronomy

    Our lab studies symbiotic associations between plants and microbes (bacteria and fungi) using genetic, molecular, and biochemical approaches.

  • Cameron Curie

    Currie, Cameron

    currie@bact.wisc.edu
    608-265-8034
    4305 Microbial Sciences Building

    Bacteriology

    Ecological and evolutionary genomics of symbiotic systems

  • Timothy Donohue

    Donohue, Timothy

    tdonohue@bact.wisc.edu
    608-262-4663; 608-265-5224
    5166 Wisconsin Energy Institute

    Bacteriology

    Our laboratory analyzes pathways and networks that microbes use to grow, generate biomass, or produce alternative fuels from sunlight or other renewable sources of energy.

  • Marcin Filutowicz

    Filutowicz, Marcin

    msfiluto@wisc.edu
    608-262-6947
    6305 Microbial Sciences Building

    Bacteriology

    Regulation of DNA replication and transcription 

  • Richard Gourse

    Gourse, Richard

    rgourse@bact.wisc.edu
    608-262-9813
    5470 Microbial Sciences Building

    Bacteriology

    We study the control of gene expression and the structure of the bacterial choromosome.

  • Robert Landick

    Landick, Robert

    landick@bact.wisc.edu
    608-265-8475
    5441 Microbial Sciences Building

    Biochemistry

    RNA polymerase structure/function; regulation of RNA chain elongation 

  • Carol Lee

    Lee, Carol Eumni

    carollee@wisc.edu
    608-262-2675
    430 Birge Hall

    Zoology and Center for Rapid Evolution

    Genetic architecture of invasive species; evolutionary physiology; functional ecological and evolutionary genomics; niche evolution; speciation, metagenomics of the copepod microbiome

  • Caitlin Pepperell

    Pepperell, Caitlin

    cspepper@medicine.wisc.edu
    608-262-6167
    5301 Microbial Sciences Building

    Medicine

    Ecological and evolutionary interactions between humans and human pathogens.

  • Nicole Perna

    Perna, Nicole

    ntperna@wisc.edu
    608-890-0171
    4434 Genetics/Biotech

    Genetics

    We focus on systems-scale evolutionary genomics of agriculturally, biomedically and industrially significant bacteria.

  • David Schwartz

    Schwartz, David

    dcschwartz@wisc.edu
    608-265-0546
    5434 Genetics/Biotech

    Chemistry and Genetics

    Scalable discovery of human and cancer structural variation through invention and applications of single molecule systems.

  • Jade Wang

    Wang, Jue D. (Jade)

    wang@bact.wisc.edu
    608-263-0307
    6478 Microbial Sciences Building

    Bacteriology

    Genome stability, DNA replication and stress response in Bacteria

  • Karen Wassarman

    Wassarman, Karen

    wassarman@bact.wisc.edu
    608-262-8106
    5550 Microbial Sciences Building

    Bacteriology

    Small RNA regulation of gene expression is critical for appropriate cellular response and survival of environmental stress.